Tuesday, March 25, 2008

Not Quite a Debate

not quite paralyzed
she can walk with a cane
which rests neatly in her
shopping cart as
she hobbles down the isle
pushing her quart of milk
three frozen dinners
and small cans of dog food
and catches up to me
at the checkout

I shop for a family of four
and four cats and an old hungry dog
and today wore a campaign
sweatshirt for the heck of it
to see what flames I might ignite
in our chilly super-grocery-store
when the clerk noticed it
and said they’re all corrupt even if
he’s smart enough
but still corrupt
railing how she wouldn’t
vote for any of them
while the old lady stacked her
dog food neatly on the belt
behind me
patient eyes assembling this debate
I said well, at least in a Democracy
you’re still allowed the freedom of choice
and I rallied my original purpose
not believing I’d really soften
the cynicism of anyone’s heart or mind
but maybe burn
some of its poison

2 Responses to “”

  1. paisley said

    this was really nice deb… i am dying to know what the elderly woman thought… oh to be omniscient for just a day…….

  2. noahthegreat said

    The images remind me of work.

Leave a Reply

