Sunday, April 13, 2008

Learning How To Drive

in reverse careering down the narrow
twisting roads in the city
lined by cars parked on both sides
at the mighty meters feeding the
ravenous city budget
with bikes locked and hanging their chains
and frames rusted from the daily
corrosion of the weather
and pedestrians on sidewalks dodging
into the street blindly behind bumpers
deaf to the world with their cell phones and iPods
you drive
backwards through red lights
stop signs and yields that we
can’t even see
my seatbelt tight restraining me
you steer around
the oncoming cars trucks and buses
with grace and felicity
while I holler and scream
and can barely watch the
horror unfolding
you smile and
accelerate reassuring me
that we’ll get there in time

and I say I’ve had enough of this ride
but there’s something about speed
hammering against the flow
something about youth and skill
free of the adversary of anxiety
that seduces
that releases me

2 Responses to “”

  1. noahthegreat said

    I really like this, but it really reminds me of the Demon Lover for some reason.

  2. dsnake1 said

    heh, sounds like another routine day in the city. 🙂
    very true about the cellphones and iPods.

    enjoyed this.

Leave a Reply

